Cases / Law, regulation and treaties · Pakistan · 2025
Pakistan's 450,000-acre farming scheme for army company halted
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Not on record
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
Under the Green Pakistan plan, land described as empty was to be leased for 20 to 30 years to an army company covering 450,000 acres. Al Jazeera reported in March 2025 that the scheme was halted.
What?
Pakistan was transferring about 450,000 acres of land described as empty to an army company on 20- to 30-year leases; the scheme was reported halted. Al Jazeera
Where?
Pakistan Al Jazeera
When?
March 2025 Al Jazeera
Who?
Gained
- Army company (not named in the sources reviewed) — 20- to 30-year leases on about 450,000 acres Al Jazeera
Lost
None on recordHarmed
None on recordWhy?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
Long-term lease of land described as empty to an army company. Al Jazeera
6 of 6 questions answered from the record
What happened
The record, in order.
Al Jazeera reported in March 2025 that land described as empty was being transferred to an army company, covering 450,000 acres.
The leases were to run for 20 to 30 years, and Al Jazeera reported that the scheme was halted.
The Al Jazeera article is headlined as raising water shortage fears.
In court and with insurers
Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.
Lawsuits and rulings
No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.
Insurers
No insurer decision on record.
What we don't know
Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- None on record The sources reviewed do not say who halted the scheme, or when.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not state who used or lived on the land before the lease.
- None on record The sources reviewed name a UAE-based carbon-credit forest company alongside this case but give no details of it.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers
Press and investigations
- Al Jazeera report on Pakistan's canal scheme and water shortage fearsAl Jazeera · 2025-03-27
Connected cases
Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.
- Loss and damage fund has paid about 55% of its $822m pledges Pakistan · 2022–2026
- Government of Pakistan (Government) — here: Government transferring the land; there: recipient of pledges and payments
- Pakistan cancels five independent power contracts amid capacity-payment costs Pakistan · 2024–2025
- Government of Pakistan (Government) — here: Government transferring the land; there: Terminated and renegotiated the contracts
- Pakistan ordered to pay Karkey about $800 million over seized powerships Pakistan · 2012–2021
- Government of Pakistan (Government) — here: Government transferring the land; there: Respondent in the arbitration
- Tasman Spirit oil spill (Pakistan) Pakistan · 2003–2004
- Government of Pakistan (Government) — here: Government transferring the land; there: Claimant; reported demand US$1bn