Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Water use · France · 2021–2025

Nestlé Waters: banned treatments and the Vittel aquifer deficit

Nature's voice · report
My aquifer under Vittel ran a deficit of about 1.3 million cubic metres a year, according to French National Assembly and Senate records (2018, 2023).
Did nature suffer? Yes. Harm is on record.
Recorded
  • Bacteriological contamination was seen in the wells at Perrier and others, according to the Senate's 2025 report. Maire-info
What the record lacks: 3 none on record See the gaps

A 2025 French Senate report said Nestlé Waters used prohibited treatments on water sold as natural mineral water and that the state concealed it. In 2024 the company closed investigations into the treatments and illegal drilling with a €2 million judicial public-interest agreement.

€2 millionFine paid by Nestlé Waters under the 2024 agreement
Plus €1.1 million for restoration. Nestlé Waters' turnover over the period is not known.

Status As of May 2025: the September 2024 agreement closed the prosecution; a Senate report said the state concealed the treatments; no later proceedings are in the record.

What?
Water sold as natural mineral water under the Perrier, Vittel and Hépar labels was treated with prohibited methods; Nestlé Waters closed the investigations with a €2 million CJIP. Le Club des Juristes
Where?
France: Perrier, Vittel and Hépar sources and the Vittel aquifer. Maire-info
When?
2021–2025 in the record; agreement in September 2024; Senate report in 2025. The Local
Who?
Gained
  • Nestlé Waters — Closed investigations into the treatments and illegal drilling for €2 million plus €1.1 million for restoration, and kept the natural mineral water label. Le Club des Juristes
Lost
None on record
Harmed
  • Consumers — Bought water sold as natural mineral water that had been treated with prohibited methods. Maire-info
  • The Vittel aquifer — Ran a deficit of about 1.3 million cubic metres a year. French Senate
Why?
The record links the hidden treatments to contamination at the sources; the extent of that contamination is not known. Maire-info
How?
Prohibited ultraviolet and activated-carbon treatments were applied to water sold as natural mineral water; the matter closed through a CJIP. Maire-info
6 of 6 questions answered from the record

What happened

The record, in order.

Nestlé Waters sells Perrier, Vittel and Hépar, among other brands, as natural mineral water in France. A French Senate report in 2025 documented that the company had applied prohibited treatments to water sold under this label: ultraviolet treatment and activated-carbon filtering. The report also recorded bacteriological contamination at Perrier's wells and others.

In September 2024 Nestlé Waters closed investigations into the banned treatments and into illegal drilling by concluding a convention judiciaire d'intérêt public (CJIP), a judicial public-interest agreement. It paid a fine of €2 million and €1.1 million for restoration. The prosecution was closed and the natural mineral water label was retained.

In May 2025 the Senate report said the French state had concealed the treatments at the highest level and that the Élysée had known since 2022, The Local reported.

Separately, French National Assembly (2018) and Senate (2023) records put the yearly deficit of the Vittel aquifer at about 1.3 million cubic metres.

  1. 2018French National Assembly record on the Vittel aquifer deficit
  2. 2021Start of the period the record covers for the banned treatments
  3. 2022The Élysée knew of the treatments, according to the 2025 Senate report
  4. 2023French Senate record on the Vittel aquifer deficit of about 1.3 million m³ a year
  5. 2024September: Nestlé Waters closes investigations into banned treatments and illegal drilling with a €2 million CJIP and €1.1 million for restoration
  6. 2025May: Senate report says the state concealed the treatments at the highest level

How it looked

What was shown, beside what was recorded.

Shown

  • Water sold as “natural mineral water” under the Perrier, Vittel and Hépar labels.
    Nestlé Waters · The Local

Recorded

  • Water labelled natural mineral water was treated with prohibited ultraviolet and activated-carbon filtering (Perrier, Vittel, Hépar).
  • Bacteriological contamination was observed at Perrier's wells and others (2025 Senate report).
  • Nestlé Waters closed investigations into the banned treatments and illegal drilling with a €2 million CJIP and €1.1 million for restoration (September 2024).
  • The Senate report said the state concealed the treatments at the highest level and that the Élysée had known since 2022.
  • The natural mineral water label was retained.
  • The Vittel aquifer ran a deficit of about 1.3 million cubic metres a year (French National Assembly 2018, Senate 2023).

Who gained

Money that reached nature, beside money that stayed elsewhere.

Reached nature or the ground

€1.1m
Restoration amount stated in the record; what the money was spent on is not stated.
Restoration payment under the CJIP€1.1m

Gained elsewhere

Not totalled
Reached the ground
€1.1m
Currency: EUR · Window: 2024. All figures cover the same period. * Estimate built from cited figures.

In court and with insurers

Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

Lawsuits and rulings

  1. 2024-09Settled€2000bn Fine (amende); a further €1.1 million for restoration
    Nestlé Waters judicial public-interest agreement (CJIP)
    French judicial authorities (court not named in the record) · Criminal · French public prosecution → Nestlé Waters

    Nestlé Waters closed investigations into banned water treatments and illegal drilling with a CJIP, a judicial public-interest agreement. The prosecution was closed. Le Club des Juristes

Insurers

No insurer decision on record.

What nature saw

Outcomes measured on the ground, and nature's note.

Nature's report opens this page. Below: further outcomes measured on the ground.

Vittel aquifer deficit
About 1.3 million m³ a year
French National Assembly (2018) and Senate (2023) records
Restoration paid under the CJIP
€1.1 million
September 2024
Extent of contamination at the sources
Not known
The record gives no measurement

What we don't know

Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

Record

  • None on record Nestlé Waters' turnover over the period is not known, so the €2 million fine cannot be compared with its earnings from the water.
  • None on record The extent of contamination at the sources is not known.
  • None on record Personal penalties for individuals: no data in the record.

Did the harm stop?

The record shows the investigations were closed through the September 2024 agreement and the label retained; it does not state when the prohibited treatments ended.

Who paid?

Nestlé Waters paid the €2 million fine and €1.1 million for restoration. The record names consumers, and trust in inspections, as those affected, and gives no figure for any cost to them.

Sources

Voices on record: — Company or project✓ Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers

Connected cases

Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.

Science and environment

Groundwater
Water held underground in soil and rock, drawn through wells.