Cases / Mining · France · 2015–2019
Lannion Bay shell-sand plan dropped after public resistance
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Not on record
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
A permitted shell-sand dredging plan in Lannion Bay, France, was dropped in 2019 after public resistance. The sources reviewed do not describe the environmental effects the dredging would have had.
What?
A 2015 decree permitted shell-sand extraction in Lannion Bay, France; the plan was abandoned in 2019 after public resistance. Reporterre
Where?
Lannion Bay, France Reporterre
When?
2015 decree; plan dropped in 2019 Reporterre
Who?
Gained
- CAN (Roullier group) — held a 2015 decree permitting up to 250,000 cubic metres a year Reporterre
Lost
None on recordHarmed
None on recordWhy?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
A permit by decree for annual shell-sand extraction of up to 250,000 cubic metres; the company withdrew after opposition. Reporterre
6 of 6 questions answered from the record
What happened
The record, in order.
Reporterre reported that a 2015 decree signed by President Macron allowed CAN, a company of the Roullier group, to extract up to 250,000 cubic metres of shell sand a year in Lannion Bay.
Reporterre reported that CAN abandoned the plan in 2019 after public resistance.
In court and with insurers
Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.
Lawsuits and rulings
No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.
Insurers
No insurer decision on record.
What we don't know
Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- None on record The sources reviewed do not describe the environmental effects of the planned extraction or the arguments of the opposition.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not say whether the 2015 permit was challenged in court.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers
Press and investigations
- Le projet d'extraction de sable en baie de Lannion abandonnéReporterre · 2019
Connected cases
Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.
- Prestige Spain · 2002–2026
- Government of France (Government) — here: signed the 2015 decree; there: Claimant