Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Pesticides and agrochemicals · India · 2011–2022

Compensation for Kerala endosulfan victims reported delayed

Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.

Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
What the record lacks: 5 insufficient · 1 not measured See the gaps

Compensation for victims of the pesticide endosulfan in Kasaragod, Kerala, was reported delayed between 2011 and 2022, according to Down To Earth. The sources reviewed give no verified figures for victims or payments, so the scale of the harm is not established here.

What?
Compensation for endosulfan victims in Kasaragod was reported delayed. Down To Earth
Where?
Kasaragod, Kerala, India Down To Earth
When?
2011 to 2022 Down To Earth
Who?
Gained
None on record
Lost
None on record
Harmed
  • Endosulfan victims in Kasaragod, Kerala — Compensation reported delayed Down To Earth
Why?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
Not described in verified terms in the sources reviewed.
6 of 6 questions answered from the record

What happened

The record, in order.

Down To Earth tracked the delay in endosulfan compensation for victims in Kerala between 2011 and 2022.

The outlet describes the endosulfan case as a decades-long tragedy in Kerala.

    In court and with insurers

    Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

    Lawsuits and rulings

    No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.

    Insurers

    No insurer decision on record.

    What we don't know

    Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

    Nature

    • Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.

    Record

    • Insufficient Reported but not verified: aerial spraying of endosulfan on cashew estates run by a Kerala state plantation corporation, from 1976 to 1978 until 2000 to 2001.
    • Insufficient Reported but not verified: 6,727 victims identified; a 2017 Supreme Court compensation order; payment approved for 977 people in February 2026.
    • Insufficient Reported but not verified: compensation of 500,000 rupees for each of 6,727 people.
    • Insufficient Reported but not verified: India objected to listing endosulfan under the Stockholm Convention.
    • Insufficient Reported but not verified: no penalty recorded against any producer, with the Kerala state bearing the cost.

    Did the harm stop?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Who paid?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Sources

    Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers

    Press and investigations

    Connected cases

    Related matters, and cases linked to this one through the same organisations, with the role each played in both.