Cases / Mining · Portugal · 1975–2000
Hintze Ribeiro bridge collapse linked to river sand dredging
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Not on record
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
IntechOpen identified 25 years of sand dredging and five successive floods as the main causes of the Hintze Ribeiro bridge collapse in Portugal. The sources reviewed do not describe the wider environmental stake.
What?
The Hintze Ribeiro bridge collapse is linked to 25 years of sand dredging and five successive floods, IntechOpen reported. IntechOpen
Where?
Portugal IntechOpen
When?
Sand dredging 1975–2000, per IntechOpen; collapse date not verified IntechOpen
Who?
Gained
None on recordLost
None on recordHarmed
None on recordWhy?
IntechOpen identified 25 years of sand dredging and five successive floods as the main causes. IntechOpen
How?
Sand dredging, per IntechOpen; the sources reviewed do not describe how the structure failed. IntechOpen
5 of 6 questions answered from the record · open: who
What happened
The record, in order.
IntechOpen identified 25 years of sand dredging, from 1975 to 2000, as a main cause of the Hintze Ribeiro bridge collapse.
The same source identified five successive floods as a main cause.
In court and with insurers
Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.
Lawsuits and rulings
No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.
Insurers
No insurer decision on record.
What we don't know
Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: the bridge collapsed on 4 March 2001, killing 59 people.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: investigations listed upstream aggregate extraction among the causes.
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: a 2006 acquittal and compensation of 5.82 million euros.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not describe the legal outcome in verified form.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts— Press and investigations— Communities and civil society✓ Researchers