Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Lobbying, PR and greenwashing · Global · 2010–2020

Consumer Goods Forum misses 2020 zero net deforestation pledge

Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.

Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Not on record
  • The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
What the record lacks: 1 none on record · 3 insufficient · 1 not measured See the gaps

The Consumer Goods Forum, which brings together about 400 large consumer goods companies, pledged in 2010 to achieve zero net deforestation in its supply chains by 2020, and missed it. At stake for forests is whether corporate pledges that lapse are replaced before the loss is measured.

What?
The Consumer Goods Forum's 2010 pledge to achieve zero net deforestation in its supply chains by 2020 was not met, according to Forest 500. Forest 500 (Global Canopy)
Where?
Global supply chains of Forum members
When?
2010 pledge; 2019 CDP warning; 2020 target date; 2020 new coalition BusinessGreen
Who?
Gained
None on record
Lost
  • Forests in member supply chains — Deforestation was not removed from supply chains by 2020, according to Forest 500 Forest 500 (Global Canopy)
Harmed
None on record
Why?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
A voluntary pledge covering member companies' supply chains; the sources describe no enforceable mechanism.
6 of 6 questions answered from the record

What happened

The record, in order.

In 2010 about 400 large consumer goods companies in the Consumer Goods Forum pledged zero net deforestation in their supply chains by 2020.

Forest 500, published by Global Canopy, ranks 74 Forum members and reports that deforestation was not removed from their supply chains on time.

In 2019 the CDP called the goal impossible and said Nestlé and Cargill would also miss it (BusinessGreen, 2019).

In 2020 the Forum launched a new initiative, the Forest Positive coalition, with 17 companies.

    In court and with insurers

    Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

    Lawsuits and rulings

    No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.

    Insurers

    No insurer decision on record.

    What we don't know

    Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

    Nature

    • Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.

    Record

    • Insufficient Reported but not verified: Cargill, Procter & Gamble and Nestlé said in 2019 they would miss the target; a 2019 CDP analysis found only eight of 22 companies running comprehensive programmes.
    • Insufficient Reported but not verified: the Forum replaced the pledge with Forest Positive in September 2020 after saying supply-chain-by-supply-chain work was not enough.
    • Insufficient Reported but not verified: EU Deforestation Regulation dates (cut-off 31 December 2020; large operators’ deadline moved to 30 December 2026).
    • None on record No Forum-wide tally of deforestation achieved against the 2020 target was found in the sources reviewed.

    Did the harm stop?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Who paid?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Sources

    Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations✓ Communities and civil society— Researchers

    Press and investigations

    Communities and civil society