Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Law, regulation and treaties · United States · 2026

Arctic lease sale attracts bids from only two companies

Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.

Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Not on record
  • The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
What the record lacks: 3 none on record · 1 not measured · 1 unclear See the gaps

Only 5 of 58 parcels drew bids in the Arctic refuge lease sale, totalling $3.74 million. At stake is leasing of Arctic refuge land.

What?
The Arctic refuge lease sale drew bids for 5 of 58 parcels Alaska's News Source
Where?
Arctic refuge, Alaska, United States Alaska's News Source
When?
Lease sale reported June 2026 Alaska's News Source
Who?
Gained
None on record
Lost
None on record
Harmed
None on record
Why?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
Lease sale of refuge parcels Alaska's News Source
5 of 6 questions answered from the record · open: who

What happened

The record, in order.

Alaska's News Source reported in June 2026 that the Arctic lease sale drew bids from only two companies [0].

Five of the 58 parcels offered received bids, totalling $3.74 million [0].

    In court and with insurers

    Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

    Lawsuits and rulings

    No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.

    Insurers

    No insurer decision on record.

    What we don't know

    Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

    Nature

    • Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.

    Record

    • None on record The two bidding companies are not named in the sources reviewed.
    • Unclear Whether any parcels were leased after the bids is not stated.
    • None on record Who gained or lost from this sale is not stated; general claims about Indigenous and water-user losses are not tied to it.
    • None on record A Washington Monthly link is listed without a description and is not used.

    Did the harm stop?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Who paid?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Sources

    Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers

    Press and investigations