Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Mining · Australia · 2024

68.4% of Port Pirie children had blood lead above 5 µg/dL, SA Health reports

Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.

Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
What the record lacks: 3 none on record · 1 not measured See the gaps

SA Health's 2024 annual report on Port Pirie lead levels found that 68.4% of children were above 5 µg/dL, with the highest levels in ten years for ages 0 to 4. The sources reviewed do not name the source of the lead.

What?
SA Health reported that 68.4% of children in Port Pirie had blood lead above 5 µg/dL in 2024. SA Health
Where?
Port Pirie, South Australia, Australia. SA Health
When?
2024 measurements, reported March 2025. SA Health
Who?
Gained
None on record
Lost
None on record
Harmed
  • Children in Port Pirie — blood lead above 5 µg/dL, as 68.4% of children in 2024 SA Health
Why?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
The figures are reported in SA Health's annual Port Pirie lead levels report. SA Health
6 of 6 questions answered from the record

What happened

The record, in order.

SA Health reported that 68.4% of children in Port Pirie had blood lead above 5 µg/dL in its 2024 annual report.

SA Health said levels for children aged 0 to 4 were the highest in the past decade.

    In court and with insurers

    Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

    Lawsuits and rulings

    No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.

    Insurers

    No insurer decision on record.

    What we don't know

    Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

    Nature

    • Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.

    Record

    • None on record The sources reviewed do not name the source of the lead.
    • None on record The sources reviewed do not state how many children were included in the 2024 figures.
    • None on record The sources reviewed do not report environmental lead measurements for soil, dust or water in Port Pirie.

    Did the harm stop?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Who paid?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Sources

    Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers

    Press and investigations