US regulator cites Holtec over use of decommissioning fund money
Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.
- The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
Holtec spent about $266,000 from decommissioning funds on festivities and donations that the NRC found improper, Provincetown Independent reported. What is at stake is the money set aside to dismantle reactors and clean up their sites.
- Holtec International — Keeps money left over from the Pilgrim fund after decommissioning Provincetown Independent
- Decommissioning funds of four plants — About $266,000 spent on festivities and donations, which the NRC found improper Provincetown Independent
What happened
Provincetown Independent reported on 13 March 2024 that the US Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) found Holtec had improperly spent about $266,000 from the decommissioning funds of four plants on festivities and donations.
The report said Pilgrim's $1.1 billion decommissioning fund held $518 million in December 2022, and that money left after decommissioning stays with the company as profit.
The report said the NRC has permitted about half a million dollars of lobbying costs to be paid from the Pilgrim fund since 2019.
In court and with insurers
Lawsuits and rulings
Insurers
What we don't know
Nature
- Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.
Record
- Insufficient Reported but not verified: the New York Attorney General objected to $630 million of the $2.1 billion Indian Point fund being spent on spent-fuel management, and to federal reimbursements remaining with the company.
- None on record The sources reviewed do not say whether the NRC finding led to a repayment or a penalty.
- None on record Holtec's response to the NRC finding is not in the sources reviewed.
Did the harm stop?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Who paid?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
Sources
Press and investigations
- Holtec decommissioning fund useProvincetown Independent · 2024-03-13