Who gains from saving nature
Ledger 1 : 33 — For each dollar financing nature-based solutions in 2023, about $33 financed activities harmful to nature. (UNEP)
Cases / Law, regulation and treaties · China · 2013

China's environmental watchdog withdrew its acknowledgement of cancer villages

Short record: the main facts, with sources. A full case file has not been prepared.

Nature's voice · report
No measurement of the harm done to me here is on record.
Did nature suffer? Not measured.
Not on record
  • The record does not name which of my species, waters, soils or forests were harmed.
What the record lacks: 2 none on record · 1 not measured See the gaps

The South China Morning Post reported in February 2013 that China's environmental watchdog had withdrawn its acknowledgement of so-called cancer villages. The sources reviewed do not say which villages were affected or why the acknowledgement was withdrawn.

What?
China's environmental watchdog withdrew its acknowledgement of 'cancer villages', according to South China Morning Post reporting. South China Morning Post
When?
Who?
Gained
None on record
Lost
None on record
Harmed
None on record
Why?
Not stated in the sources reviewed.
How?
Official acknowledgement of cancer villages, later withdrawn South China Morning Post
5 of 6 questions answered from the record · open: who

What happened

The record, in order.

The South China Morning Post reported in February 2013 that China's environmental watchdog had admitted the 'cancer village' phenomenon and then withdrew that acknowledgement.

    In court and with insurers

    Every proceeding and every insurer decision on record.

    Lawsuits and rulings

    No court case on record. No court has ruled on this case.

    Insurers

    No insurer decision on record.

    What we don't know

    Undisclosed, unproven, untried: recorded as data.

    Nature

    • Not measured Harm to nature: The record holds no measurement of harm to nature.

    Record

    • None on record The sources reviewed do not say which villages were involved, how many residents were affected, or who benefited from the withdrawal.
    • None on record A 2024 journal link is listed with this entry; the sources reviewed do not say what it reports, so it is not used.

    Did the harm stop?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Who paid?

    Not stated in the sources reviewed.

    Sources

    Voices on record: — Company or project— Government and regulators— Courts✓ Press and investigations— Communities and civil society— Researchers

    Press and investigations

    1. Cancer village acknowledgement withdrawn
      South China Morning Post · 2013-02